Tinchy Stryder – Catch 22 Review

Tinchy Stryder - Catch 22

First album review in about a year they are kind of time consuming so I have devised a new format for posting them basically I break it down the album track by track into star rating categories from 5 to 1..from that we can work out if we like or not!

First album up for the rating treatment is Tinchy Stryder’s – Catch 22

5-star 10 tracks

  • Express Uself (sample of NWA Express Yourself produced by Chase & Status)
  • Tryna Be Me
  • Your Not Alone (when the olive sample drop your know about it)
  • Halo
  • I’m Landing
  • Stryderman
  • Spotlight (sample of Dooms Night Azzido Da Bass (best sample of the album?)
  • Take You Back
  • Never Leave You
  • Number 1

4-star 5 tracks

  • Warning
  • Shake me
  • Preview
  • First Place
  • We Got Them

3-star 3 tracks

  • Pitstop
  • Catch 22
  • Take off

Overall its obvious I rate the album (10 tracks – 5 stars) and that Fraser T is something of an un-sung hero of the Tinchy success this guy only produces hits. Tinchy has at least another 3 or 4 tracks he could pick from the album for chart success. Chart friendly is the majority of the album, the closest you are going to get to something “grime” is Tryna Be Me ft Ruff Sqwad but that was to expected he has well and truly “crossed over” – don’t be fooled for an urban/pop record this a solid album!

The only reason 3 tracks got 3 stars were that they were an intro/interlude’s that use the same beat what’s that about surely theres no need for that I didn’t quite get why they used the same beat?

p.s. This is the standard version not deluxe because it only got added to play.com weeks after the standard version and then I couldn’t cancel – bullshit, par!

Post by: Richard

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply